A Capella in Absentia

This is my final project for this class, but, to be quite frank, I doubt this will be the last time I post my artistic endeavors on this website. But we will leave that for another time. For my final project I created an a capella medley of songs that have been used in films that were either directed, written, or acted in by Quentin Tarantino. It starts off with the classic Bee Gee’s song, Stayin Alive which was used in the Docu-Drama Full Tilt Boogie as we see Tarantino himself walking in sync with the song, Tarantino wrote the film that the Docu-Drama is based off of, as well. The track then goes into Woo Hoo by The 5.6.7.8.’s as was seen in Kill Bill. It then segues into Rick Ross’s 100 Black Coffins, which was used in Tarantino’s last film Django Unchained. Finally it ends with Bang Bang by Nancy Sinatra as was seen in Kill Bill. I called the group A Capella In Absentia because there was never a time where everyone in the group was in the same room until we came to record it. But I would like to take a moment to thank the people who helped me. They were absolutely amazing.  The other voices heard are Sarah Camilleri, Sam Domke, and AJ Guidi. This was recorded all on a Blue Snowball Microphone that I purchased, and put together on Audacity. I enjoyed working on this project, and expect to make many like it, but a little better, in the future. I also plan on doing a video for this, but that is yet to be decided on. I started off this project by picking songs that I felt would best work together. I then molded them together on audacity and began splitting up the voice parts. Afterwards, I sent the music to everyone and we decided on what songs to keep and what songs to get rid of. After which we began practicing and recording song by song until we finally got it down and recorded it all in one take. I have included the link below. I hope you enjoy. Feel free to download it and boost my self esteem a little.

http://acapellainabsentia.bandcamp.com/track/tarantino

 

Leave a comment